PDA

View Full Version : Hot vs Cold RSD?

MrPete
08-20-2009, 11:02 AM
I am a Licensed Massage Therapist in Washington State and originally posted to get some insight from several of you about how Massage seemed to affect you. My hope is to have better knowledge to help my patients with RSD.

In the answers I found 1 person that said "there are 2 types of RSD Hot and Cold. I haven't found any other writing about this so would like to hear more of your comments. The person said warm was good for someone with cold RSD and Cold was good for someone with Hot RSD.

This seems to be a clearly somthing that could explain the huge variety of comments I've recieved about massage. Maybe good for 1 type and not for the other.

MrPete

CRPSbe
08-20-2009, 12:27 PM
Massage? On an RSD affected limb or part of your body? It's intolerable.

allentgamer
08-20-2009, 01:10 PM
I was just talking with my PT guy yesterday about this very subject. I have CRPS type II, which means they know how I got CRPS, and which nerves are damaged, and my nerves like it warm.

Right now it is summer time, so it isnt to bad for me. But soon as winter hits I will be miserable the entire time. I am always looking for ways to keep my right leg warm that isnt bulky, or I dont need an extension cord. Something that I can take with me and use on the go, very easy to pack, or wont take up much space. There isnt a lot out there thats for sure.

If you have any clients that have this kind of CRPS, then you never want to put cold hands, or cold products directly on the effected body part as this would cause pain for sometimes days after the initial contact. And I would assume that it would be the same for the other type of CRPS as well.