Go Back   NeuroTalk Support Groups > General > Computers and Technology

Computers and Technology A general forum for discussions about computers, technology, and the Internet. If you just want to "geek out" or talk about how computers tick, then this is the place!

My computer can't read my camera

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-14-2007, 04:08 PM   #1
Curls47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
My Mood:
Default My computer can't read my camera

I have windows xp and a sony camera. All of a sudden my computer cannot recognize my camera. I have been downloading pics to my site with no problem and I have been using Corel Paintshop X (don't buy it) for cropping and all that. I have checked my ports, camera, run virus checks and I'm at a loss as to what to do next. The problem is with the pc as I tried my friends new camera and cable and it would not recognize that either. It says to see if the camera is turned on or connected properly and then there is another message that tells me that it cannot read the connection.

I uninstalled the Corel and even the Camera and Scanner Wizard will not download the pics. I'm probably going to do more damage cause I don't have a clue what I'm doing. Can anyone help or have any ideas? Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Susan
Curls47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-2007, 04:57 PM   #2
allentgamer
Senior Member
 
allentgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toon Town USA
Posts: 1,002
My Mood:
Default

Maybe there is something wrong with the usb port you are using. Try plugging it into another usb port and see if that helps.
__________________

.
Gone Squatchin
allentgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-2007, 05:06 PM   #3
Jo*mar
Co-Administrator
Community Support Team
 
Jo*mar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pacific NW USA
Posts: 20,369
My Mood:
Default

so it was working and just stopped working?

any new programs or any changes made?
try the system restore if that might have happened

loose wires or connections?
{ i did manage to break my USB connector once}

Maybe delete the camera from the camera and scanner section in control panel if it is there? and let the system re install it when you plug it back in to the USB?
__________________

.
Check the Helpful sticky threads near the top of every forum.
site FAQ's
.

Use the search tool to find information posted in other NT threads & posts
Search link -
.

NT Guidelines
.



.


.
Jo*mar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-14-2007, 10:33 PM   #4
Curls47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
My Mood:
Default

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the response. Yes, it just stopped working. But I must say it's been acting up for a while and I had to do a system restore to get it to connect for the past several months.... now nada. I'm going to try your suggestions tomorrow when I feel a little more fresh. Hopefully it will work, if not I'll be back.

Thanks, Susan
Curls47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-15-2007, 06:57 PM   #5
Curls47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
My Mood:
Default

I'm back. But first I must tell Allen that his bug is great. I'm assuming it's a cockroach.

I have changed ports and they are okay. And there is no longer a camera to uninstall. eek! It's the connection that doesn't work with my camera or my friends. I went to the Sony website and downloaded the driver for my camera model to no avail. But I shouldn't have to do that with windows xp right? As the saying goes, I know just enough to make me dangerous.

Could all the system restores done some damage? Could I have turned something off? The Geek Squad is $150. for a dx. so I'm open to anything.
Thanks for any ideas.

Susan
Curls47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-22-2007, 10:29 PM   #6
dahlek
Magnate
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: metro DC suburbs
Posts: 2,576
Default I Wish I could be happy for you,

and that it was a 'simple' moment?
I got a camera this summer, and found that the Mfr's program didn't work, but windows' already in machine program did.. go figger?Thank goodness for DH's! Even HE an EE had to read all FOUR manuals that came with the thing...He has NEVER used manuals before, but then, he wanted to 'play' too?

If only I could remember which buttons to push? Who knows, you mite get a pic of me by accident! - j

Kmeb is the camera/puter expert in my book, I can't figger much more than on/off and maybe a few other basics? PM her later this week as she's having possible big-time dental work tomorrow, unless that California fire stuff gets in the ways... Worth an ask, you know?
dahlek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2007, 07:24 PM   #7
Curls47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
My Mood:
Default

Thank you dahlek! I will contact her later. I live in San Pedro (in so cal) and there is grit from the fires all over my kitchen floor. This is very tragic for any one who experiences a loss due to this fire. Weird weather.

Susan
Curls47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-26-2007, 01:05 PM   #8
mrsD
Super Moderator
 
mrsD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 28,449
Red face I have a Sony Cybershot and

Paint Shop 9. I don't download to it, but to the Windows program already on the computer. It then puts the pictures into My Pictures, and then I pick them out of there. Paint Shop Pro is a little hinky IMO... and I will not upgrade to
what you have. This older Dell, is tricky to download to, but our laptop which is a Dell too, goes very easily..it is one year newer.

Are you saying you don't even get the icon that you are connected?

Have you tried a card reader? I have one of those and it was less than $20 from
Tiger Direct. I have found my batteries in the Sony are very sensitive.
They go dead quickly (rechargeables only allowed in it).
My computer makes a pluke noise when I plug in my camera. Before I even download from it. Do you get that sound effect?

I am not very computer literate...and HAVE had some frustrations with this
desktop Dell. I thought it was ME...
__________________
aka mrsdoubtfyre
All truths are easy to understand once they are discovered; the point is to discover them.-- Galileo Galilei

.
Mama gray squirrel hanging upside down on our flat feeder 2014. She is very beautiful IMO and has a lovely tail. There were a few peanuts in this feeder that morning.
************************************
Please use the search function to find more information here in our forums. Your keyword must be at least 4 letters long. This is the handy link:


.


************************************
Here is a link to our guidelines that explains how to post links and information properly here due to copyright laws:


.
mrsD is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-26-2007, 06:30 PM   #9
Jo*mar
Co-Administrator
Community Support Team
 
Jo*mar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pacific NW USA
Posts: 20,369
My Mood:
Default

Curls,
any luck yet?

Picasa2 from google is a nice free photo program - but I don't know if that will help your camera connection problem.
http://picasa.google.com/download/
__________________

.
Check the Helpful sticky threads near the top of every forum.
site FAQ's
.

Use the search tool to find information posted in other NT threads & posts
Search link -
.

NT Guidelines
.



.


.
Jo*mar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-30-2007, 02:38 PM   #10
Curls47
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
My Mood:
Default

The problem is Corel Paint Shop Pro X. I have been messing around with this problem and it's kind of working. I had downloaded photo Album (off same disk) and used it for a couple of months, but it is really slow, acts hinky, I was constantly doing a system restore and you get promos from Corel during the entire process. I uninstalled the program and my problems really started.

Corel never really uninstalls. So I reloaded Corel Photo Album and now I get a camera connection but Corel does not work. I am loading my pics via Camera Wizard. I am wondering if it's possible to have photo album and Camera Wizard as default at the same time?

Mrs. D, yes I get a noise, mine is a blonk, when I turn the camera on when it's hooked up to the pc. That's a good thing. I want to download Picasa2 but I'm afraid to down load any new software until I figure out how to get rid of all the Corel products forever with out loosing my connection and check my default for the pics. So if anyone knows how to do this I would appreciate the help. But my advice is to stay away from any Corel products, they are a nightmare.

Thanks, Susan
Curls47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joy and pain of one couple, all on camera BobbyB ALS News & Research 0 07-20-2007 07:33 AM
a little computer help, please proudest_mama Parkinson's Disease 2 07-18-2007 04:23 PM
EVENT: Volunteer profile: Lights, camera ... fight Parkinson's Stitcher Parkinson's Disease 0 05-31-2007 08:35 PM
Computer down (again) Diamond Lil Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD and CRPS) 7 03-24-2007 03:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.
Brought to you by the fine folks who publish mental health and psychology information at Psych Central Mental Health Forums

The material on this site is for informational purposes only, and is not a substitute for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment
provided by a qualified health care provider. Always consult your doctor before trying anything you read here.


Powered by vBulletin • Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.


All posts copyright their original authors Community Guidelines Terms of Use Privacy Policy
NeuroTalk Archives